Gargus-Wilkerson Award

Joe Wilkerson was an outstanding official in our association.  Upon Joe's passing in 1990 the association decided to have an award presented to one of our officials each year.  Starting 2009 this award is now called the Gargus-Wilkerson Award.  Because of Ray Gargus' commit to our association and his representation of all the charteristics listed below, we were honored to add his name to this award.  The award is voted on by our membership and is based on all the qualifications that we felt Joe and Ray have.  This is one of the biggest honors an official in our association can receive from his/her peers.  Below are a list of example guidelines and past winners:

  • In addition to rules knowledge and on-field mechanics we look for:
  • Dedication to the organization
  • Relationships with fellow officials, players, coaches, and administrators
  • Ability to communicate
  • Leadership on and off the field
  • Willingness to train and mentor younger officials
  • Willingness to accept assignments at all levels
  • Participation at membership meetings and state and district functions

It is a great honor to be included in the list below


1993 Jim Davis 1994 Ray Gargus 1995 Tony Duncan
1996 Tom Rankin 1997 Herb Larnerd 1998 Ron McIntosh
1999 Randy Harkins 2000 Tom Edwards 2001 Ray Lawrence
2002 Rusty Graves 2003 Mark Wehrwein 2004 Gordon Alexander
2005 David Bell 2006 William "Bubba" Hogue 2007 Willis Jackson
 2008 Mark Russell 2009 Rod Moss 2010 Will Rasely
2011 Bob Arnone 2012 Tim Callins 2013 Eric Greene 
 2014 Mark Wilson 2015 Jason Elin  2016 Almon Majors 
2017 Rickey Barrett
2018 Lamar Futch  2019 Barry Goodson